Other Games

Traits that Impact Death Shroud and Life Force

Once you hit the [F1] key to enter death shroud, a few things will happen. First, your default hotbar and health meter will no longer be displayed on-screen. Instead, a new bar will appear (shown below) that contains the four death shroud skills, your life force meter, and a fifth skill that allows you to exit death shroud, though this can be done by simply pressing the [F1] key again.

Death Shroud Skill Bar

Please note that once you exit death shroud, there will be a 10 second cooldown before you can use it again, regardless of how much life force you currently have.

The edges of your screen will also have a green border while in death shroud, but a more important cosmetic change is that your character will appear as a dark, ghostly form for the duration. While this looks incredibly cool, the main thing to know is that this visual transformation will alert enemy players to the fact that you’re using death shroud and will react accordingly.

There are technically two different versions of death shroud: one used while on land, and a second while underwater. It’s important to note that you will need to unlock each set of death shroud skills independently through active use in combat. Likewise, you’ll also want to pay attention to the differences between the 4 death shroud skills you’ll have access to.

Normal Death Shroud Skills:

Skill Name Description
Life Blast Blast a foe with accumulated life force, dealing more damage the more life force you have
Dark Path Send out a claw. If this attack hits an enemy, you teleport to that foe and chill nearby enemies
Doom Make your target flee in fear
Life Transfer Damage nearby foes and steal their life force

Aquatic Death Shroud Skills:

Skill Name Description
Life Blast Blast a foe with a plague that transfers one condition to them
Dark Water Blind and poison foes near your target with a dark cloud
Wave of Fear Terrifies all foes in front of you
Gathering Plague Draw conditions from nearby allies to yourself, and inflict weakness on yourself
GW2 Death Shroud Guide

Death Shroud is the unique profession mechanic for the necromancer, and can be thought of in a couple of different ways. First, it will temporarily provide you with 4 unique skills, so you could think of death shroud as an extension of your normal hotbar skills while in combat. Death shroud also increases the necro’s survivability while active since incoming damage will deplete your available Life Force instead of your health.

Provided you’ve built up sufficient life force, you can enter death shroud at any time by pressing the [F1] key. Upon doing so, a new bar containing four skills will appear on-screen, though your weapon, healing, utility, and elite skills will be disabled for as long as death shroud is active. To exit death shroud you can either hit the [F1] key again, or it will also end once your available life force has been depleted.

Life Force Tip

Above: The in-game help text for necromancers on using Death Shroud.

It should be noted that your death shroud skills must be unlocked through active use in combat the same way your weapon skills are. This process must be done twice since you will have a different set of death shroud skills while underwater, so those can only be unlocked via engaging in underwater combat.